

Recording, Elections, Computer Resources, Accounting, and Administration Divisions Misdemeanor Records and Records Management Divisions Probate/Mental Health Records and Commissioners Court Minutes Divisions Civil Records Division 5501 Airport Boulevard, Austin, Texas 78751 1000 Guadalupe, Austin, Texas 78701 200 W. 8th St., Austin, Texas 78701 1700 Guadalupe St., Austin, Texas 78701

Policy on Exemptions from Payment for Copies

The following persons and entities requesting copies of documents in court records or copies of the register of actions in any misdemeanor, civil, or probate case are exempt from payment:

- a. U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS),
- b. U.S. Immigrations and Customs Enforcement (ICE),
- c. U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP),
- d. Any county attorney or district attorney for any county in Texas,
- e. Any prosecutor for the United States, the District of Columbia, any state or political subdivision of any state within the United States, or any territory of the United States (Puerto Rico, Guam, Northern Marianas, U.S. Virgin Islands, and American Samoa),
- f. Any law enforcement agency of the United States, the District of Columbia, any state or political subdivision of a state within the United States, or any territory of the United States,
- g. The county clerk or district clerk of any county in Texas,
- h. An indigent party or that party's attorney of record in the misdemeanor, civil, or probate case who requests a copy of a document from that case, or
- i. Any person entitled to a copy by law or by court order.

These exemptions apply to plain, certified, and exemplified copies.

All persons who are not exempt must pay the fees for copies before the copies are provided to the requester.

rees for copies of documents in court records.	
FREE	 Copies of documents available online at TravisCountyClerk.org. These will bear an "Unofficial Copy" watermark.
	 Copies of documents which should have been available online (except for technical or other error) and which are emailed to the requester.
20 cents per page	Self-service copies made by the customer at a photocopier in the County Clerk's office
25 cents per page	Self-service copies made by the customer from microfilm printer or computer printer in the County Clerk's office
\$1 per document	Uncertified copies of documents emailed to the requester from existing document images in the document management system (DMS). These have no watermark.
\$1 per page	Uncertified copies of documents scanned or photocopied by a clerk and mailed, emailed, or provided to the customer at the counter.
\$1 per page, plus \$5 per document	Certified copies of documents photocopied by a clerk and mailed or provided to the customer at the counter. Certified copies are in paper form only.

Fees for copies of documents in court records:

When a requester does not pay the appropriate fee after the copy is made, the clerk may not provide the copy to that person. The assessment is due until it is paid or until waived by the court.

If a person with an outstanding debt in a case, and who is not exempt from payment, requests any other service requiring payment of a fee, the outstanding balance must be paid before providing that service.