Marriage Licenses in Travis County, Texas
OBTAINING A MARRIAGE LICENSE
- The couple must bring the following documentation to the County Clerk’s office at 5501 Airport Blvd, Austin, Texas 78751:
Proof of identity and age (must be 18) using documents approved by state law. These may include an official copy of the applicant’s birth certificate, a driver’s license or state-issued identification card, or an approved document issued by Texas or another state, the United States, or a foreign government (i.e., passport, visa, military identification, etc.). For more proof of identity and age options, please call (512) 854-9188.
Social Security Number of each applicant (if the applicant has one). Applicants do not need to show a Social Security Card.
Note: If divorced, and the divorce was finalized within the previous 30 days, an applicant must provide a certified copy of the divorce decree which states that the 30-day waiting period has been waived. If a previously-divorced applicant wishes to use his/her maiden name, he/she will need to provide identification showing that maiden name (such as a certified copy of his/her birth certificate or a certified copy of his/her divorce decree that states his/her name is to be changed).
Reduced License Fee: The Texas Twogether Program allows applicants to waive a portion of the marriage license fee if they complete a premarital education course and provide a certificate that the course was completed not more than one year before the date of the marriage license.
Fee Waiver: A member of the National Guard on federal active duty, or a member of the armed forces of the United States on active duty, who is preparing to be deployed to serve in a hostile fire zone as designated by the United States Secretary of Defense is exempt from marriage license fees.
You may ask the person of your choice, who is authorized under the laws of Texas, to conduct your marriage ceremony. (c.f. Tx. Family Code 2.02). The County Clerk’s Office does not approve or disapprove officiants, but, for your convenience, we can provide a list of those Judges in Travis County who conduct marriage ceremonies.
Following the ceremony, the person authorized to conduct the service must date, sign, and note the county where the ceremony occurred on the certificate.
There is a 72 hour waiting period from the date of license issuance. Couples wishing to marry before the waiting period must seek permission from a District Judge. Waiver forms are available from the County Clerk’s office.
RECORDING THE MARRIAGE LICENSEAfter the marriage ceremony, the License Must be recorded (registered) at the Travis County Clerk’s Office.
The marriage license must be returned to the Travis County Clerk’s Office within 30 days from the ceremony date. Once the office receives the license, it will be copied and filed and the original will be returned to you.